Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed Leave for Zimbabwe from Barbados
Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed Leave for Zimbabwe from Barbados
The two travelling reserves for T20 World Cup will be flying to Zimbabwe via a commercial flight and will not be accompanying rest of the squad to Delhi.

Most of the Indian players for the Zimbabwe series have landed in Harare and Rinku Singh, and Khaleel Ahmed will join the squad soon as they have left from Barbados via a commercial flight. The two players were part of India’s T20 World Cup squad as travelling reserves but will not be travelling back to Delhi with the rest of the team.

There were three more players – Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shivam Dube and Sanju Samson – who were named to the T20I squad for the Zimbabwe series but the men’s senior selection committee have named their replacements.

“The Men’s Selection Committee has named Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma and Harshit Rana as replacements for Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube and Yashasvi Jaiswal for the first two T20Is against Zimbabwe.

“Originally slated to join the Zimbabwe-bound squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series starting Saturday, 6th July, the trio will travel to India first with the rest of the ICC T20 World Cup-winning Indian squad before departing for Harare,” read a BCCI release.

Harshit Rana, Jitesh Sharma and Sai Sudharsan are being sent as reinforcements for the first two T20Is only. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) didn’t mention the reason for these three players coming to Delhi and Rinku, and Khaleel going to Zimbabwe, but it’s understood that the entire squad is likely to meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi after reaching Delhi. The charter-carrying Indian contingent will land in the capital early on Thursday.

“Yes, both Khaleel and Rinku have left for Zimbabwe as they were named in the squad for the first two games. Rest will travel to Delhi first,” says a source close to developments.

Sanju, Jaiswal and Dube will join the squad before the third T20I on July 10.

India’s squad for 1st & 2nd T20I against Zimbabwe: Shubman Gill (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Dhruv Jurel (wk), Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande, Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma (wk).

What's your reaction?



0 comment

Write the first comment for this!